//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Just for today

The other day I was pondering contentment when I was reminded from my reading that Grace is a huge key to being comfortable with yourself. I was reading from a book of inspiration and a poem leapt from the page, Marjorie Holmes’s prayer, “Just for Today”.
This may be one of my new favorite prayers.

Oh, God, give me grace for this day. Not for a lifetime, nor for next week, nor for tomorrow, just for this day.
Direct my thoughts and bless them,
Direct my work and bless it.
Direct the things I say and give them blessing >too.
Direct and bless everything that I think and speak and do so that for this one day, just this one day, I have the gift of grace that comes from Your presence

The beauty of this prayer is a reminder that we are each given just one day each day. If you don’t believe me, ask a cancer patient or a terminally ill patient. Ask anyone who has a short amount of time left to enjoy life. Ask a family member of a loved one whose live was cut unbelievably short. Life is given each day, and only each day.

So often I find myself looking ahead weeks, months, years planning, pining, yearning for things and circumstances that aren’t right now. My life doesn’t seem fixed for me to enjoy it. Is this how I should be? Well,no. I’m not guaranteed tomorrow. I have now. It doesn’t mean I can’t plan nor shouldn’t. It just means I can be free from the shackles of worry and fear. I can stop being overanxious and overwrought about what doesn’t exist. Like marriage and the ability to have kids. Both of those things are gifts.

Each new day is a gift. Each day we are given a days supply of grace. That grace is like bread and Christ said, “I am the Bread of life”. He gives it daily. As one of my dear classmates from high school repeatedly posts as her Facebook status,”Thank you, God, for giving me another chance!”

Thank you, God, for giving me such grace. Please let me show your grace through me. Thank you for giving me such a wonderful gift.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

