//
you're reading...
recipes and cooking, Uncategorized

Refreshing cranberry-blueberry spritzer

image

When I lived in Europe,  one of my favorite beverages was a spritzer made of fruit juice and carbonated water. You could buy them pre-bottled, order them at restaurants, or make your own. One of my fondest memories of my time in Germany was sipping a delightful Apfelschorle on the terrace of one of the restaurants in Lindau, overlooking the harbor and the Bodensee (the Lake of Constance). An Apfelschorle is still one of my favorites. 

I don’t know why we don’t have more of these delightful drinks on the market or why they are not as popular.  The Izzy drinks are the closest American product I’ve seen.

The recipe is dead simple. Mix a half to half ratio of juice to carbonated water. I start with the juice and pour the water so I can get a nice foam on top.

For my cranberry-blueberry spritzer I use cranberry-blueberry juice, carbonated water (today I used Tynant from Wales) and I garnished it with blueberries and mint. The Europeans do not use nearly as much ice, but do whatever makes You feel comfortable.  Enjoy!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Refreshing cranberry-blueberry spritzer

  1. Yum

    Posted by Kolya | July 19, 2011, 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

