//
you're reading...
cooking, gardening, recipes and cooking

The basil is back!

image

I am winning the war against the pests and insects that were invading my basil plants. I am so thankful for the tips from fellow blogger Karen at Back Road Journal ( http://backroadjournal.wordpress.com).
. I pruned and harvested a lot of my leaves,  making a big batch of pesto in the process; and I used her soapy water tip and the combination along with some feeding really worked!

The leaves have come back out big and better than ever.  I am so excited to see what I’m going to do with this harvest.  That is something I love about the challenge of growing your own herbs and veggies – finding new ways to use such a plentiful crop. Basil is a summer harvest so I know I will put some into pesto and freeze it for later.  My favorite though is just simply a caprese salad or a panini.

I’m all ears for basil uses.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The basil is back!

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog and for the pingback! Great article!

    Posted by Kellie | July 28, 2011, 3:53 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Basil gives culinary cool to summertime cocktails « - July 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

