//
you're reading...
gardening, Uncategorized

Turning of the season

“Here we come to the turning of the season,” from “Don’t Carry It All” by the Decemberists (C. Meloy)

It’s nearly the end of summer and my thoughts are turning to the changing of the seasons: new school year, new planting for the garden (autumn and winter), new recipes, and new projects.

This season marks the return to graduate school for me, an endeavour that will encompass the next three to four years or until I pass the NCE. This will mark the completion of long and winding journey that began 6 years ago in New Orleans. A journey delayed by life and changes of circumstances but still on the horizon. Life isn’t always about the end of the journey,  but the journey itself.  Sometimes the twists and turns are prepping us for the greater adventure ahead. It hasn’t always made sense at the time,  and I have been at times culpable for things,  but I do believe all things happen for a reason, and at a certain time.  I know that my life experiences since starting my graduate school quest have shaped me into the person that I am now, and that I am far more prepared for this calling to be a counselor. 

The summer squash and cucumbers have given way ,and come September it will be time to plant a fall and winter veg garden.  I’m thinking kale, swiss chard,  winter squash, and perhaps a few others. 

Autumn means the prep of winter embroidery and needlework projects and I have two special ones: designing my own apron, and creating a Christmas blanket/Afghan for the sweet baby of some dear friends.  I don’t know if it will be completed by December,  but I will try.  I’m sure it’ll be good relief from school.

Also coming in October could be a very special photo session that will be featured here on the blog, so I am very excited about that.  I have some wonderful photography friends,  and I’m looking forward to working with them in New Orleans. Fingers crossed about this.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Turning of the season

  1. Thanks so much for mentioning my post in one of your articles. I wish you every success and much happiness in this journey we call life.

    Posted by Kellie | August 1, 2011, 12:37 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Sorting out life – page 2 « GrannyMa's - August 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

