//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Prayers for London

Around London and across the UK, violence is breaking out going into the fourth day. It is so oddly strange that Kolya predicted this two summers ago. As I sit and type this,  his borough is under attack and I’m thinking of him, his family,  and of my dear friends back in Hendon Central. 

My prayers are going up that somehow this lawlessness will stop. We are all pressured, taxed,  worried,  and strained.  We are all taking massive cuts. There are ways to disagree and protest the actions of government and do it peacefully and respectably. Maybe the mobbers and youths should read up on the ideas of non-violent protest. If yoy disagree with the police or government, yes protest, but do it peacefully. Harming innocent people by driving them homeless and jobless will not help the situation.  It will only make it worse.

According to news sources, there are attacks just blocks from where Kolya is. Everyone is urged not to go out of their homes. My heart aches for him and his family.  All I can do is simply pray until I hear they are alright.  The situation reminds me so much of the worry and helplessness that I felt just after Katrina when I was an ocean away from my family and friends and not knowing anything . It was days before I was able just to get news or some relief to them from a friend.

I have to remind myself of Keep Calm and Carry On,but it’s difficult when you worry for a loved one. The strongest answer I have is prayer. It is the only thing I can give, and perhaps the most important.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Prayers for London

  1. I sincerely hope that Kolya will stay safe. I am so out of the loop on news – being a stay at home mom of a 2 year old I don’t read or watch much else besides books and shows for toddlers. Josh Groban, who I follow through facebook, actually posted something about the goings in London the other day, sending good thoughts their way. I hope things calm down soon.

    Posted by elainaelfgirl | August 10, 2011, 1:55 pm
    • I spoke with him this morning and he and his extended family are safe. It was the poorer sections and sections that border that have some gentrification that were mainly affected. He did have a cold and hasn’t been able to get to a chemist to see about it. I’m relieved but more cities are affected.

      Posted by Kellie | August 10, 2011, 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

