//
you're reading...
cooking, gardening, recipes and cooking

Celebration Mint Tea

I collect cookbooks.  If I am traveling to a new place, I will buy a regional or local cookbook as my “souvenir ” of my visit.  I’ve collected quite a few and I’m still adding. Many of us travel through food and some of us travel for it ,quite a few actually. I work for restaurant recommended by Southern Living,  Mississippi Magazine, and a few others for a unique and delicious experience.We see a lot of travellers that plan trips to eat at the restaurant,  and I can think of a few that I’ve planned my itinerary around within my time.

A few years ago, I spent a week in Arlington, Virginia. I picked up two cookbooks: Thomas Jefferson’s cookbook and
What Can I Bring? : Sharing Good Tastes and Times in Northern Virginia by the Junior League of Northern Virginia.

Mint is growing and spreading rampantly in my garden. With the never-ending excessive heat advisories down here,  I’m always looking for a refreshing,  cool beverage.  We Southerners love our tea, especially iced tea. This recipe could be from anywhere in the South, but reminds me from my sojourn in Arlington.  Serve this at your next gathering or to your family,  and you won’t be disappointed. Sugar can easily be substituted with Splenda or Stevia in the same measurements. Honey would also be wonderful.

Celebration Mint Tea

3 cups boiling water
4 regular-sized tea bags
9-10 fresh mint sprigs
3/4 cup sugar or your favorite sweetener
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 cup orange juice
4 cups cold water. 

Method:

• Pour 3 cups boiling water over tea bags and mint. Cover and steep 5 minutes. 
• Remove the tea bags and mint, squeezing bags gently. Stir in sugar and the next three ingredients.  Serve over ice, and garnish with mint and lemon,  if desired.

Yields 2 quarts

from What Can I Bring? Sharing Good Tastes and Times in Northern Virginia. 
For the cookbook, you may order online via the store of the Junior League of Northern Virginia : http://www.jlnv.org

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Celebration Mint Tea

  1. Right on my man!

    Posted by hotshot bald cop | August 29, 2011, 7:10 pm
  2. Wow! That is an out of the ordinary slant.

    Posted by hotshot bald cop | September 1, 2011, 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

